Jacket

Recent and Readable – February

 

Black Diamonds: The Downfall of an Aristocratic Dynasty and the Fifty Years That Changed England
Catherine Bailey · Penguin Books
From the New York Times–bestselling author of The Secret Rooms, the extraordinary true story of the downfall of one of England’s wealthiest families Fans of Downton Abbey looking for fascinating, real-life stories of the spectacular lives led by England’s aristocrats…
Read Morecheck catalog
Almost Famous Women: Stories
Megan Mayhew Bergman · Scribner
From the acclaimed author of Birds of a Lesser Paradise, a dazzling new collection that explores the lives of unforgettable women in history.The fascinating characters in Megan Mayhew Bergman’s new stories are defined by their creative impulses, fierce independence, and sometimes…
Read Morecheck catalog
As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust: A Flavia de Luce Novel
Alan Bradley · Delacorte Press
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFlavia de Luce—“part Harriet the Spy, part Violet Baudelaire from Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events” (The New York Times Book Review)—takes her remarkable sleuthing prowess to the unexpectedly unsavory world of Canadian…
Read Morecheck catalog
Outline: A Novel
Rachel Cusk · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
A luminous, powerful novel that establishes Rachel Cusk as one of the finest writers in the English language A man and a woman are seated next to each other on a plane. They get to talking—about their destination, their careers, their families. Grievances are aired, family…
Read Morecheck catalog
Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances
Neil Gaiman · William Morrow
Multiple award winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction following Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things—which includes a never-before published American Gods story, “Black…
Read Morecheck catalog
Winter at the Door: A Novel
Sarah Graves
Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner—the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side.   Moving f…
Read Morecheck catalog
The Nightingale
Kristin Hannah · St. Martin’s Press
In love we find out who we want to be.In war we find out who we are. FRANCE, 1939 In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front.  She doesn’t believe that the Nazis will invade France…but invade…
Read Morecheck catalog
Wait for Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories
Craig Johnson · Viking Adult; First Edition edition
Twelve Longmire short stories available for the first time in a single volume—featuring an introduction by Lou Diamond Phillips of A&E’s Longmire Ten years ago, Craig Johnson wrote his first short story, the Hillerman Award–winning “Old Indian Trick.”…
Read Morecheck catalog
Mermaids in Paradise: A Novel
Lydia Millet · W. W. Norton & Company
Mermaids, kidnappers, and mercenaries hijack a tropical vacation in this genre-bending sendup of the American honeymoon. On the grounds of a Caribbean island resort, newlyweds Deb and Chip—our opinionated, skeptical narrator and her cheerful jock husband who’s friendly to a fault—meet…
Read Morecheck catalog
Into a Raging Blaze
Andreas Norman · Quercus
Andreas Norman, a former diplomat in Sweden’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, was deeply involved in counter-terrorism work and Sweden’s role in the Arab Spring. In his debut novel, Into a Raging Blaze, Norman uses his insider knowledge to create a mesmerizing espionage thriller…
Read Morecheck catalog
Frog: A Novel
Mo Yan · Viking Adult; Reprint edition
The author of Red Sorghum and China’s most revered and controversial novelist returns with his first major publication since winning the Nobel Prize In 2012, the Nobel committee confirmed Mo Yan’s position as one of the greatest and most important writers of our time….
Read Morecheck catalog
Back Channel to Cuba: The Hidden History of Negotiations between Washington and Havana
William M. LeoGrande , · The University of North Carolina Press; 1 edition
Challenging the conventional wisdom of perpetual hostility between the United States and Cuba–beyond invasions, covert operations, assassination plots using poison pens and exploding seashells, and a grinding economic embargo–this fascinating book chronicles a surprising, untold history…
Read Morecheck catalog
The Quantum Moment: How Planck, Bohr, Einstein, and Heisenberg Taught Us to Love Uncertainty
Robert P. Crease · W. W. Norton & Company; 1 edition
The fascinating story of how quantum mechanics went mainstream. The discovery of the quantum—the idea, born in the early 1900s in a remote corner of physics, that energy comes in finite packets instead of infinitely divisible quantities—planted a rich set of metaphors in the popular…
Read Morecheck catalog
Arrival of the Fittest: Solving Evolution’s Greatest Puzzle
Andreas Wagner · Current Hardcover
“Natural selection can preserve innovations, but it cannot create them. Nature’s many innovations—some uncannily perfect—call for natural principles that accelerate life’s ability to innovate.” Darwin’s theory of natural selection explains…
Read Morecheck catalog
Lincoln and the Power of the Press: The War for Public Opinion
Harold Holzer · Simon & Schuster
“Lincoln believed that ‘with public sentiment nothing can fail; without it, nothing can succeed.’ Harold Holzer makes a significant contribution to our understanding of Lincoln’s leadership by showing us how deftly he managed his relations with the press of his day to move…
Read Morecheck catalog
The Work: My Search for a Life That Matters
Wes Moore · Spiegel & Grau
The acclaimed author of The Other Wes Moore continues his inspirational quest for a meaningful life and shares the powerful lessons—about self-discovery, service, and risk-taking—that led him to a new definition of success for our times.   The Work is the story of how one young…
Read Morecheck catalog