The Friendship War

When Grace takes boxes of old buttons from a building her grandfather bought, she starts a fad at school that draws her closer to one friend, but further from another.

Author: Andrew Clements Call Number: J FICTION CLE

I Can Make This Promise

When twelve-year-old Edie finds letters and photographs in her attic that change everything she thought she knew about her Native American mother's adoption, she realizes she has a lot to learn about her family's history and her own identity

Author: Christine Day Call Number: J FICTION DAY

Me and Banksy

A Banksy-style protest against cameras in classrooms brings a group of middle-grade students together. For fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen and Gordon Korman. Dominica's private school is covered in cameras, and someone is hacking into them and posting embarrassing moments for the whole school to see. Like Ana picking her nose. When Dominica quickly changes her shirt from inside out in what she thinks is the privacy of a quiet corner in the library, she's shocked -- and embarrassed -- to discover a video has captured this and is currently circulating amongst her schoolmates. So mortifying, especially since over the past three years, they've had a half-dozen school talks about social media safety. Who has access to the school security cameras and why are they doing this? Dominica and her best friends, Holden and Saanvi, are determined to find out, and in the process start an art-based student campaign against cameras in the classroom.

Author: Tanya Lloyd Kyi Call Number: J FICTION KYI

Clean Getaway

An 11-year-old boy confronts the realities of race relations, past and present, and the mysterious agenda of his unconventional grandmother during an unplanned spring break road trip through the once-segregated American South.

Author: Nic Stone Call Number: J FICTION STO

Chasing Vermeer series

When strange and seemingly unrelated events start to happen and a precious Vermeer painting disappears, eleven-year-olds Petra and Calder combine their talents to solve an international art scandal.

Author: Blue Balliett Call Number: J MYSTERY BAL

Dragon Pearl

Min, a thirteen-year-old girl with fox-magic, stows away on a battle cruiser and impersonates a cadet in order to solve the mystery of what happened to her older brother in the Thousand World Space Forces.

Author: Yoon Ha Lee Call Number: J SCIENCE FICTION LEE

A Time Traveler's Theory of Relativity

Days before his thirteenth birthday, science-lover Finn learns that the women of his family are time travelers and he is expected to help locate his missing mother.

Author: Nicole Valentine Call Number: J SCIENCE FICTION VAL

Delivery of Doom

When Luno's dad FINALLY gives him the responsibility of delivering pizza orders all over the galaxy, Luno is excited, mostly. He knows that delivering pizza is no walk on the moon. There are hostile customers, and there's always the threat of his deliveries being intercepted by Quantum Pizza, the fast growing chain restaurant that will do anything to put indies like Zorgoochi Intergalactic out of business. Luno is joined by his best friend Clive, a super smart, talking clove of garlic, and Chooch, a not so smart, talking pizza oven. Their deliveries are often dangerous (try landing on a fire planet) and sometimes frustrating. All Luno wants to do is help his dad keep the family business afloat. He realizes that the owner of Quantum Pizza wants the Zorgoochi family recipe, and only Luno can protect it.

Author: Dan Yaccarino Call Number: J SCIENCE FICTION YAC

Super Puzzletastic Mysteries

New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and his all-star cast of contributing authors team up for Super Puzzletastic Mysteries, a group of interactive short stories that invite the reader to solve the mystery themselves

Author: Edited by Chris Grabenstein Call Number: J STORY COLL SUP

My Video Game ate My Homework

Dewey Jenkins wants to have the top science project in class to avoid summer school and win a state-of-the-art virtual reality video game, but after his friend Ferg accidentally breaks the console, they accidentally trigger the device, finding themselves transported inside a video game.

Author: Dustin Hansen Call Number: J FICTION HAN (Graphic Novel)

Stargazing

Growing up in the same Chinese-American suburb, perfectionist Christine and artistic, confident, impulsive Moon become unlikely best friends, whose friendship is tested by jealousy, social expectations, and illness.

Author: Jen Wang Call Number: J FICTION WAN (Graphic Novel)

The Slowest Book Ever

A playful introduction to savoring all things slow in the scientific world explores subjects ranging from nature and geology to art and outer space.

Author: April Pulley Sayre Call Number: J031.02 SAY

Astrophysics for Young People in a Hurry

America's most celebrated astrophysicist invites young readers to explore the mysteries of the universe.

Author: Neil deGrasse Tyson Call Number: J523.01 TYS

Great Chicago Fire: Rising from the Ashes

The true story of how a city rose up from one of the worst catastrophes in American history, and how this disaster forever changed how homes, buildings, and communities are constructed. A deadly blaze engulfs Chicago for two terrifying days! A brother, a sister, and a helpless puppy must race through the city to stay one step ahead of the devilish inferno. But can they reunite with their lost family before it's too late?

Author: Kate Hannigan Call Number: J977.3041 HAN

This Promise of Change

In 1956, one year before federal troops escorted the Little Rock 9 into Central High School, fourteen year old Jo Ann Allen was one of twelve African-American students who broke the color barrier and integrated Clinton High School in Tennessee. At first things went smoothly for the Clinton 12, but then outside agitators interfered, pitting the townspeople against one another. Uneasiness turned into anger, and even the Clinton Twelve themselves wondered if the easier thing to do would be to go back to their old school. Jo Ann--clear-eyed, practical, tolerant, and popular among both black and white students---found herself called on as the spokesperson of the group. But what about just being a regular teen? This is the heartbreaking and relatable story of her four months thrust into the national spotlight and as a trailblazer in history.

Author: Jo Ann Allen Boyce Call Number: J BIO BOYCE

Reaching for the Moon: The Autobiography of NASA Mathematician Katherine Johnson

The inspiring autobiography of NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, who helped launch Apollo 11

Author: Katherine Johnson Call Number: J BIO JOHNSON

Never Caught: The Story of Ona Judge

A National Book Award Finalist for Non-Fiction, Never Caught is the eye-opening narrative of Ona Judge, George and Martha Washington's runaway slave, who risked everything for freedom. Young Readers Edition.

Author: Erica Armstrong Dunbar Call Number: J BIO JUDGE

It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

Trevor Noah, the funny guy who hosts The Daily Show, shares his remarkable story of growing up in South Africa, with a black South African mother and a white European father at a time when it was against the law for a mixed-race child like him to exist. But he did exist--and from the beginning, the often-misbehaved Trevor used his keen smarts and humor to navigate a harsh life under a racist government.

Author: Trevor Noah Call Number: J BIO NOAH

Jars of Hope: How One Woman Helped Save 2,500 Children

Amid the horrors of World War II, Irena Sendler was an unlikely and unsung hero. While many people lived in fear of the Nazis, Irena defied them, even though it could have meant her life. She kept records of the children she helped smuggle away from the Nazis' grasp, and when she feared her work might be discovered, she buried her lists in jars, hoping to someday recover them and reunite children with their parents. This gripping true story of a woman who took it upon herself to help save 2,500 children from the Warsaw Ghetto during the Holocaust is not only inspirational; it's unforgettable.

Author: Jennifer Roy Call Number: J BIO SENDLEROWA